Tube amp recommendation?

Geo1

When I get my Quartets (hopefully, early next week)I plan to start looking for a tube amp to drive them. I have no experience with tubes whatsoever. How about some suggestions for starter amps and what to look for if buying on eBay, or Audiogon. Thanks.

Sorry about that! But I had to find a away to get these beasts mentioned here at Klipshland!

It seems just about everyone here is in love with either the Scott 299/299b or the Eico HF-81, both integrated stereo amps from the late 1950's/early 1960's. They can be had fairly cheaply and are easily brought up to snuff.

I guess we need more information. What kinds of music do you listen to? How much money can you spend? Do you know your way around a schematic and a soldering iron?

How about the Cary Rocket 88's at $1300 plus preamp?

How about the AR SP16 & VS55 power amp?

How about the Wright-Sound mono8's at $1k with their preamp?

How about the Maple Audio Design gear we discussed earlier on this board with the owner/designer? It's much cheaper and new.

Or...you could buy the nice Scott 222c I'm using for $350 once I get my 355 back from Craig.

One just sold for $300.

Combines a 7189-based (299-B) complete stereo amp and a 330-D AM/FM-mono tuner,

on one tall "G" chassis.

I think they are cool.

Do you like this better than the 340 which replaced it? It's a 299c/d 7591 amp with a little more power. YIKES...the 340 is minus the four 7591's which are $90 a matched quad new and they are tall than the case will hold.

I have Craig working on my 355 pre-amp tuner.

----------------

On 6/23/2003 5:17:36 PM DeanG wrote:

How about you just go with a nice solid state integrated and save yourself a headache.
:)
---------------

Actually....

Mc MA6900 is just the ticket. I sold a pair of Mc30s (plus a mountain of other things) to scrape up the cash for one of these.

I NEVER looked back.

ma6900-front.jpg

----------------

On 6/23/2003 5:17:36 PM DeanG wrote: