"I hate modern music!"

skonopa

Here is another interesting missive on the current state of modern music by one of the youth correspondants at the local newspaper.

I tend to agree with the most part of what he said in that article that it seems a lot of the current popular music is so "fake" and "manufactured", as oppose to real talanted musicians creating real music. Fortunatly for me, I don't listen to any of that garbage and I do go out of my way to look for "real" music by "real" musicians.

And if I find anything interesting, I'll be sure to post it in the current "weekly music recommendation".

{Well whaddaya know....I now have "No life"! 1,000 Posts and going strong! Woo-Hoo!}

skonopa: I think I know where you are coming from. I am a former professional musician. The tenor of the article actually sounds like a rehash of some written some 20 years ago when "New Wave" and "Electronic" music (we'll refer to it as "Techno" here) both first appeared.

In the late 1970s and early 1980s, many classic rock musicians (who were still reeling from the disco era) were having cows over the fact that the new wavers were simply recycling older music and then adding "garbage" vocals to it. That was their opinion not mine. I enjoyed the onslaught of new bands such as "The Police", "The Knack", "Cars", etc. But, most of the musicians I worked with resented the new groups. The other problem classic rock musicians had was that Techno was created electronically, using keyboards and drum machines. "Fake" and "manufactured" were some key words used back then to describe Techno. Although that may be true, it still took talent to program and play those instruments, so I also enjoyed the refreshing difference that Techno made in our music culture. The musicians I worked with considered Techno, no-talent, computer-music that was akin to cheating.