ideas for a quality cartridge/stylus, for thorens

joessportster

hello again guys i am somewhat new to tt use but have a vast collection of vinyl(1500 albums), am fairly happy with my thorens 160 with a stanton 681 cartridge/stylus, but have been seeing the mm, or mc cartridges for sale and am wondering what is the better style the mm, or the mc type cartridge, i realize i would have to have a pre amp that would allow use of 1 or the other, (or both), at present my pre-amp will only allow use of the mc, but i am switching my pre-amp in the near future and want to get the best sound possiable, any suggestions on a good quality set-up would be appreciated, also a little information on the difference between the 2 types of cartridges and the benefits of each, i figure a budget for a new cartridge around 100 to 150.00 thanks Joe

Joe, Which Stanton 681 do you have? If it is a 681 EE you won't find better for $150 IMO. In MM carts: A Shure VMX(?) for the mid $200s would be a step up. If you would rather have a more "laid back" sound a Grado Reference Platinum at $300 new might be a choice. Within or slightly under your budget a Shure M-97ED would be my choice.

Good MC cartridges start in the $400-500range up to $3000 and more for the esoteric hand made Koetsus(sp?). I think you would be better served with a MM with your Thorens waiting for a MC until you decide on a substantial TT upgrade. Why? Your tone arm wiring and compliance isn't up to the standards necessary to take advantage of the MC's ultra dynamics. And, the high gain of a MC amp will accentuate the motor noise of the Thorens. YMMV,etc.

Rick

joe

Cool your jets Boyo!

If you had gone out and bought an MC cartridge it wouldn't have worked with your current setup. If you go to a moving coil cartridge you will likely need to buy a rather expensive preamp or buy a stepup transformer. I was actually attempting to help you save some cash.