New Receiver vs. Amp... opinions please

NCT

OK, i have a RC52 center, RF62 fronts and rs42 surrounds along with a sub12 sw. My receiver is a hand me down HK AVR330. My receiver does not have any HDMI connections at all, and my tv is a 50" samsung lcd. I cant connect my receiver to my tv because the receiver not being able to connect via hdmi, thus not giving me much adjustability with the on screen osd.

Next question is how much power could my speakers handle as i see all the time people pushing more rms than the speaker is rated. And could someone explain to me the whole amp vs, biamping thin. Yes I am a HT noob and it took me a couple years to save for the speakers and just want to get the best out of what I have (speakers), Can anyone reccomend a receiver for my system, as the watts per channel is kind of above me right now, as i am still learning about everything.

Thanks all for your help.

http://www.amazon.com/Harman-Kardon-AVR330-7-1-Channel-Receiver/dp/B0000D8HRE

• Like 1

If 3D isn't a big concern, this would be my bet:

http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/ONKTXNR3007/Onkyo-TX-NR3007-THX-Ultra2-Plus-140w-x-9.2-Network-Receiver/1.html

Get a 5 year extended warranty if you're worried about buying factory reconditioned, and you'll still have a THX Ultra II receiver with Audyssey MultEQ XT for under a grand. Probably overkill, but minor detail.

do myspeakers have a need for an amp? My question is this...would it be better for me to buy a cheaper receiver and get an amp to get the power? Lets say i was to purchase a 65w per channel receiver with all the new sound formays and get a Crown XTi-4000. would that be too much for my system? I have found that amp for 300 new in the box.

• Like 1