Should Edward Scissorhands build an amplifier

richieb

Thinking about building the Mini-Beast OTL kit from Transcendent Sound. I know several members are well versed in amp building and might weigh in on this. I have zero background in building electronics and although this comes in kit form it of course requires closely following schematics and a good hand at soldering, another area I have very limited experience. Would I be in too deep? Should I avoid this like the plague?

• Like 1

As someone who has built two Heathkit color TVs and several Dynaco amps, pre-amps, tuners, etc., I say YES, but start on something smaller and less expensive.

Get experience soldering on another kit first.  Perhaps this:

http://www.jdslabs.com/products/76/cmoybb-diy-kit-rechargeable/

or something from Parts Express.

Finally, does Transcendent Sound have a service to check out your "finished" product and possibly correct any cold solder joints, or worse?

Edited by DizRotus
  • Like 1

For a few dollars more you could get into tubes:

http://tubehobby.com/show_det.php?det=42

Sorry, you were talking to Diz, not the OP.  My bad.

No my apology.  I should have been more clear. 

Now the cheapest solution is to go down to the nearest Radio Shack before it closes, buy a handful of resistors, small caps, some terminal strips, a roll of 18 or 22 gauge solid core wire, maybe another cheap part or two.  Also a 40 watt or less pencil solder gun, and a small roll of 60/40 rosin-core solder. Drill a few  holes in any thin piece of metal you have lying around, bolt on a couple of terminal strips  and practice soldering.  More importantly, practice de-soldering, because everybody  gets something wrong and taking it apart and putting it right, is a necessary skill. I like the vacuum sucker desoldering guns, also carried at the Shack, over the desoldering wire.