Haunted house story of the day

USNRET

Some months ago, while resting upon my sofa, I look up and see a smoke detector that has somehow manged to twist itself counter-clockwise and become detached from the mounting ring. It was dangling from the AC/interconnect wiring just lazily hanging out 20 feet above the floor. It's green LED flaunting that although I am now a free bird and not ensnared in this mount to the ceiling I am functioning properly and still getting my dose of 120 volts. I nap.

Upon occasion I would glance up and enjoy the sight of this free, but still trapped by leash, wonderment of a Kidde 1276 and, upon introspection, know that due to my fear of heights (and lack of appropriate ladder) the kindly smoke detector would continue it's high trapeze act......until this BEAST started its chirping. Incessant was this randomly timed sound! I could stand it no longer. I stared, I studied, I planned. Off to the garage quickly fashioning an expandable painting pole, a custom bent clothes hanger and duct tape I returned to confront this screeching Son Of a Bose. With deadly accuracy I dispatched the demon ripping free the connection between brain and power while deftly catching and cradling the offender.

Fast forward to scene two through months of time elapse. Our fair city widely advertised that the fire department would provide smoke detectors to deserving home owners, of which I am not due to financial disqualification. I re-read the story. There appears to be a loop hole; please inquire if there are extenuating circumstances...........I leaped upon this like a politician on a kick back. Email was sent. Within an hour I had a fire chief committing one of his Captains to launch a truck to the scene. It arrived as planned, promptly at 1600 hours today. Six brave firemen rushed to my home. Greeting them warmly (it was 106) in the front yard I ushered the team into the house.