Speaker Cable question

JCturboT

Anyone have any experience-either good or bad- with AudioQuest speaker cables? Does their 1/4" spade fit without modification on the back of say Cornwalls?

From what I've read they have some positive reviews.

Really the only reason I'm looking into them is that they have been marked down-over 50% off of retail.

Jeff

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey Jeff. Yes I have used both Type 6 and Slate AQ speaker wire. I imagine your speakers would dictate whether the clarity and detail that I noted would be beneficial to your ears. I have no experience with the spades. Take it you saw the sale featuring Slate 12ft pr (one example) for $99.95? Good luck!

Keith

Which ones? I used to like AudioQuest products a long time ago. I was a big proponent of AudioQuest Ruby ICs and have had Type 4, Type 6, Indigo, Midnight, and AudioQuest F-14, perhaps one of my favorite of the AQ line in some ways as it was simple, cheap, and did the least damage. Over the years, I started thinking the AQ cable, on the whole, was a bit more grainy with some being a bit harsh. The F-14 oxidized after awhile but it was still a great bargain at the time. I always felt the Type 4/Type 6 to sound too thick. The Indigo was a good compromise. Later, I kind of moved away from their designs altogether but a few on here seem to like theirs. I think there are other cables out there which are more harmonically rich and smooth while still retaining the all important detail. Speaker cables really do need to be matched with the gear. I found that some cable that did great with solid state sounded quite sluggish via tubes, with the Transparent Network cables being a prime example.

Get the thin spades or better yet, move to 5-way binding posts on your speakers. See the compromise I had to shoot for below with thicker spades. It works but is a major compromise.

cw_binding_post1.jpg

Keith-yeah,that'