Concert levels?

Jim Cornell

Has anyone ever turned up thier Klipsch to concert levels!

I hit an absolute concert level at 3 and a half = 25 watts per channel on the solid state amp i still have here!

I had a freind over and was playing the scorpions the ZOO

and these k-horns just blew me away!

With the altec 511b mods, i didnt even wake the 3 kids, it was amazing!

I do have a question, people blow diaphrams, i would like to know how?

Also im still new to the K-55-Vs, are they a solid driver with a strong diaphram?

Are the K-55-Vs 1inch voice ciols?

I took down my tweeters to check the diaphrams, its a worried feeling i get, and they were just fine!

In the past i have NEVER fried any Klipsch speakers!

I had KG 5.5s once, i blew the cabinets apart, but never fried the drivers LOL!

These Klipschorns are 22 years old, and boy do they still play well!

I caint see the K-33-E, but im sure at 25 watts, it was only moving 1/4 inch!

Its a pretty solid woofer!

One of my K-77-Ms on the coil, there is black around the perimeter, i lightly sanded the black wear off, but did i also remove a protective coating, and should i replace the diaphram?

Regards Jim

2nd answer...

....overdriving them with more power than they were designed to handle.

As long as you don't drive your 25 watt amp into clipping -- you're not going to hurt anything. Jim!! You know this crap already!!

Also, with 25 watts on a horn loaded 15" driver -- I bet it wasn't moving at all, much less a 1/4".

I know Dean

The only way id see replacement on a driver would be age, my sytems pretty clear. The SS pyramid, or my conrad johnson tube!

I had a black film over the coil on one of my tweeters, i just lightly sanded it off, now its more clear and pretty clean!

Now what speaker can you take out the coil sand it and it sounds great LOL!

The marvels of Klipsch!