Discontinued from Heritage Series...

jt1stcav

As a confused Newbie, I've looked around for answers pertaining to why the Cornwall model was discontinued from the Klipsch Heritage Series. Maybe the experts here can enlighten me, because I haven't yet found the answer!

Seems that since its demise in the early '90's, the Cornwall now has a sort of cult following (which I think is cool), but what I'd like to know is:

Can/should/will the Cornwall model ever be reserrected from it's grave, and brought back to life in the Heritage Series as the Cornwall III (still retain the appearance of the original Cornwall model, but with the latest Heritage upgrades found on the Klipschorn and others)?

Personally, if a Cornwall III was ever introduced back to the series, I'd buy a pair...would others be also interested?

I think HDBR started a thread like this last summer. You may want to search for it to see responces.

If I remember, the majority here would love to see the CornW make a comeback.

I doubt it would happen soon. Klipsh can't fill the orders they have now for the Heritage models they do offer.

JM

Several years ago Bruce Edgar interviewed PWK and others at Klipsch and Associates including Jim Hunter. It was stated, by Hunter I think (I have the article somewhere but don't feel like finding it), that the Cornwall was replaced by the Chorus for a couple of reasons. One reason was that the styling was considered old-fashioned, evidently sales were dropping. And people at Klipsch also considered the Chorus an improvement in performence, mainly because of it's better woofer.

TBrennan and others, thanks for the replies. I kinda figured that the syling was considered old fashioned back then (now it's retro), and that sales were slipping (what a shame). I'm not too familiar with the Chorus, but I didn't know it's specs were somewhat better, especially in the bass region (I'm a Newbie and still learning all the time). 5.gif