Birch Wood Refinishing - Taking Suggestions (pics)

meagain

I have a refinishing dilemma. Considering purchasing speakers that aren't quite stomachable in the looks department. I've had some experience refinishing pieces but never Birch. From what I know, it can be tricky. I feel certain types of wood can't take a dark stain which is fine, I'd like to keep them light, but I wouldn't exactly call this furniture grade birch and I'm wondering if there's any good way to fix these flaws.

They were raw birch which alledgedly have been oiled. There is a sheen that I would call 'satin' on them. I cannot find any brush or roller marks. The feel on the top is smooth, yet the bass bin (LaScalas' V) feels rough. I'm not familiar with what an oil finish looks like as far as sheen, but I would think it would darken the wood. Let's say, it's 'possible' there's some type of sprayed clear coat on them. IDK.

One speaker is very clear, even toned. The other is the problem child. I've included pics of the areas that bug me. My question is, is there any way to deal with these blotches. Some way to lighten them? Even them out? Would I be able to apply a bleach to these areas or will I always be stuck with them. I'm also not sure how a light stain would affect it. I imagine I'd have to use a wood conditioner (or shellac?) before applying.

Any way to deal with these darkened areas?

Face around horns

post-20189-1381927925149_thumb.jpg

Frankly, I think they'd look killer painted. (not black), but that might nix the resale value.

I sure can see it though. I saw a decorator Khorn pic with it painted gloss white to match the walls in a contemporary setting and it was stunning. Surprised more people haven't done it. But in this case, with an eye towards future resell - paint is probably a 'no-no'.

post-20189-1381927925201_thumb.jpg

Any way to deal with these darkened areas?