Classic Cornwalls

KOZ

Pristine pair of 1980 Cornwalls looking for a good home. I'm the original owner (s/n 25U 800 & 801). I finished the birch cabinets in a walnut and oil finish. No marks at all. All original components and of course they sound great. I am new to the Klipsch forum, and I don't know exactly how this works, but I know Craig's List is not the place to list these speakers. I paid $1200 in '80 and Klipsch says I could get that for them today? I'll consider $1000 OBO. I'm located in the Seattle, WA and would prefer to have you pick them up - that way you could listen to them before taking them home.

post-23507-1381930808761_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Don't do it! You'll blame her and yourself. OTOH you could always replace them with Khorns! If you upgrade the networks. Many here can help you with that. There's nothing in this price category that even comes close. These are beautiful cabinets with heavenly sound. What does she want? [*-)]

I'm also the original owner of 1980 Cornwalls. More than once over the years, my wife has tried to get me to sell them for a newer, sleeker design with a finish other than zebrawood to go with the furnishings.

When we moved to our current home in 1994, she offered to let me spend up to $10K to replace them. We went to one of the high-end shops, listened to speakers up to $25K and in the end she looked at me and said, "We're keeping the Cornwalls." Music to my ears! It was obvious that these were something special, even to her.

I hope you decide to keep them but thanks for offering them here first.

Welcome to the forum!

Bose - That is exactly what she is suggesting -I replace them with some "Lifestyle System". I truly am not an audiophile- but I find it very hard to believe that real sound can come from those little cubes.

If I go with a home theater system, can't I use the Cornwalls- and still have great speakers for music?

• Like 1