veneer on Lascalas

wsu99999

I am picking up a set of LaScalas this weekend and the cabinents are horrid! Please keep in mind that I am extremely new to this. I don't mind doing my due dilligence on things, and I've read the forum extensively on Lascalas.

I came across a post about adding exotic wood veneer to the exterior of the cabinents. These LaScala's that I am buying have the wood in good shape, unfortunately they have been painted AND had paper applied to the exterior which is going to all have to be stripped off. I am not very experienced in finishing wood by stains or sanding, but I will have someone with me who is!

My questions are as follows:

What exactly did the poster mean when he referred to adding wood veneer to the cabinents? (I'm assuming he ment a thin layer of fake wood covered in plastic (kinda like wood grain in cars)

How expensive would it be for the materials?

Where would I get such materials?

How diffucult of a project would it be?

Would you reccomend this route or is there a better way to go? As of right now, I'm not too sure of the condition of the cabinents, but the drivers are great and the price is all I can afford. The sound is perfect, just they are painted ugly!

Thanks as always for your help. The people of this forum are the most helpful I've found.

There are several options.

1) Using real veneer flitches (sp). This is just about impossible unless you have many years of experience and need something wonderful.

2) Using preassembled veneer with a paper backing and separately applied hot melt glue. See www.joewoodworker.com. You'll have to experiment with scraps first. You must have a clean, level surface. Then you have to stain and finish.