BBQ Sauce

This is a recipie that I have been using for 30+ years. It is relatively easy and the results are great. People who tried it would bug the hell out of me for free bottles and it got to be a pain. I would just show them how to make it so they would leave me alone. Not joking

You will need a large mixing bowl and an electric hand held mixer.I have better luck making large batches as to adjust the ingredents after the mix. Retain extra ingredents after the first mix to adjust for taste. LEAVE ROOM in the bowl to add/adjust- very important

8 -18 oz bottles of Kraft REGULAR BBQ sauce- must be the regular- not smoked-1- 40 oz bottle of Heinz Ketchup-pour these into your mixing bowl. I pour about an inch of white vinegar in the empty containers and wash them out to get the last of the sauce and add necessary vinegar to the mix. Retain the bottles to store the sauce for later use.At this point I add one of the small bottles of Texas Pete to the mix. I like mine a little on the hot side so you may want to adjust to taste. Cover the top of the mixture with a generous portion of hand ground black pepper, The same with instant minced garlic to taste- you can also used powdered garlic. Add a splash of vinegar in addition to the vinegar left in the bottles. Dont over do it or themixture will become too thin.Typically I put enough pepper and garlic to coat the top of the mixture in a large stainless steel mixing bowl. Mix the ingredients completely.

Taste the mixture. Too hot or spicy add more BBQ sauce and ketchup-Too bland add more of the other ingredients. Now the PITA- pouring the mixuture back into those bottles with the small openings. You can do smaller batches using the same ratios but it seems more difficult to adjust the mix after mixing. Keep the sauce in the fridge. I t last for ages with all of the vinegar. I use this on pork-chicken- beef ribs.Sorry for the general amount on the spices. One or 2 attempts and it will be easy.

Lets hear about yours