bi-amp of RF-7 II main speakers

sweeko

Sorry, newbie here.

Is doing a Bi-Amp of my RF-7 II main speakers worth going from a 7.2 setup to a 5.1 on my Onkyo NR-808 Receiver?

Will the bass and treble sound be that much better? I do have a Velodyne 12" sub that sounds great.

Also, what are the Topic Tags and how are they used?

Sweeko,

Welcome to the forum.

Is doing a Bi-Amp of my RF-7 II main speakers worth going from a 7.2 setup to a 5.1 on my Onkyo NR-808 Receiver? Will the bass and treble sound be that much better?

Passive biamping with an AVR's surround back channels will not make a significant improvement.

Add this and you will not have to give up your 7.2 system and will reap the benefits of better bass drive and more detail in the midrange and treble. Of course a bit more $$$ will have to be spent.

Bill

http://worcester.craigslist.org/ele/4356181163.html

00y0y_99evZUElPO_600x450.jpg00O0O_8ZbL165OjhX_600x450.jpg

Edited by willland

I ran a pair of 7's bi-amped with very good results. Had a Yamaha M-80 on LF (250 wpc) and a small Rotel (50 wpc) going to the horns. It really mellowed the horns out at high volume levels. The 7's are power hungry monsters and can take just about all you woul d ever want to give em'.

I could go on & on...

Yes, you will benefit from bi-amping, if you do it right :)

Oh, and Welcome to the Forum, Sweeko!

Rock on ♪ ♫ ♪

Edited by Matt 1970
  • Like 1

Yes, you will benefit from bi-amping, if you do it right :)

Matt,

It looks like Sweeko is referring to receiver bi-amping with the rear surround channels, not true bi-amping like vertical or horizontal.

I could be wrong but that is how I take his question.

Bill

• Like 1