newbie, ready to buy, need some advice...

snacky

Hello all,

I am looking to upgrade my living room system and I’m looking for some advice. I work for a commercial audio integration company so I’ve got some knowledge of the audio world but not in home audio and I haven’t heard many good home systems.

I guess I’ll start by describing the room.
  • Its 22’ wide by 14’ deep.
  • A 60” LCD is mounted in the middle of the long wall
  • The couch sits directly across from the LCD, backed all the way to the wall.
  • Its kind of hard to explain but this is the only possible configuration of the room given wher the doors, windows, etc. are.
  • The room is carpeted
  • Standard ceiling height

I currently have a Bose 2.1 system (oops) which is ok for what it is but it leaves a lot to be desired, I think it will be perfect for my master bedroom.
Anyway, I have already acquired a Denon 5.2 ch receiver with 140w per channel.

I am looking to purchase a sub, front L R, center, and rear L R speakers.
I’m not interested in purchasing any additional gear at the moment, for now just speakers that I’ll be happy with for the next 10+ years.

I don’t want to have any regrets, like when I came home a couple years ago with a new 46” LCD and months later I deeply regretted not forking out the extra dough for a larger one. I also don’t want to overdo it cause for one, I don’t like wasting money and two, I don’t want additional size if I don’t need it.

When I bought my 2.1 I convinced myself it was perfect because the system would fit nicely In my small house, my strategy was to buy everything smaller to make the house bigger… like less bulky furniture etc.
With my new home theater speakers, I am willing to go with whatever size components are best suited for my needs.