Adcom : thumbs up or down

JAJ88

Does anyone know anything about the brand "adcom". Iwas recently given an amp/preamp that is about 12 years old. I plan on using it for 2 channel stereo. I have it hooked up to my RF3's now and it is simply explosive. Does anyone know anything about the brand adcom?????? Im kinda new at this....

Adcom is a line of solid, well built amps and preamps and in the same class as Rotel, B&K, NAD, etc... Well engineered, well designed and should last you a very long time. Having said that, they can be a little 'agressive' with horns but should give you solid bass if a little bright on the top end. Just my two cents...

I had a 5802 for a very short time. I did NOT care for it with the Belles I had at the time. My Tandberg and McIntosh sounded much better than the Adcom. I am not trying to discourage you though. I just didn't care for this particular amp much. Others who have owned Adcom feel differntly. If that's all you have and like the sound than keep it. If after listening for awhile and something in the sound is annoying you it may just be the amp. Also the Belles are quite differnt then the speakers you are using.

hoggy

My brother bought a slightly used GFA 5400 class-A MOSFET power amp that looks like new, and performs flawlessly. It's solid as a rock and weighs a ton, and sounds great with his Tannoy and Triangle tower speakers (but while running in class-A tends to get a bit hot to the touch, which is normal). When he recently bought a mint pair of Klipsch KG 3.2s, they sounded somewhat brighter than he liked with the Adcom, plus he didn't need 100 watts anymore with his efficient KG 3.2s, so he replaced the Adcom with a 12 watt Chinese built Dared VP-16 tube integrated amp for 2-channel listening, and will use his Adcom with his Triangles for HT.

Enjoy your new Adcom gear...it's well made and reliable, and should last a good long time.