HDMI 1.2 Vs. 1.3 question

Uts

Hi guys,

I already have an older Sony HTIB, it's about 7 or 8 years old. The wife & I just bought a house last year, and I want to build a decent HT system. My question is, is there i huge difference between the sound quality between 1.2 & 1.3? I know the 1.2 won't decode some of the newer HD surround formats, but I found a Pioneer Elite receiver (Pioneer Elite VSX-82TXS 7.1) that is 1.2, & it is brand new for around $500. Is it worth going with a new Onkyo 607, or a 706 (examples), and give up watts, and other options?

90% of it's use will be for movies & TV.

I've been looking at Forte II's, Hersey's, and the KG series. I listened to some F3's a while back, and knew that whatever I bought, it had to be Klipsch.

I'm just starting out, and this will be the step. I don't want to start off regretting my decision in a few months.

I know this is my first post, but I've been visiting this forum for the last couple months. I'd value some of your opinions. [;)]

Thanks,

Bill

Welcome to the forum. I don't think there is a sound difference. A 1.2 HDMI receiver needs the BD or HDDVD players to decode the new sound formats and send them via LPCM while 1.3 receivers have decoding capabilities on board and can take a raw bitstream from the player. With either receiver you will get TrueHD or DTSMA. My friend has the Pioneer 82 and I have the Onkyo 705. Of your choices, I would choose the 82 or the 706. If you are concerned about wattage, you could later add an outboard 3 or 5 channel amp to cure that problem for a few hundred bucks on the used market.

Bill

Thanks Bill!

Right now, I'm using my PS3 for BD. I know it has 1.3. I know the PS3 will do the decoding before it's sent to the receiver.

So it looks like I'll be ok if i decide to go with the 82.

I appreciate the explanation.

Bill

thanks for the welcome guys!