Projector help for a noob

MichaelandKlipsch

Projector Question.

If my room is only 12from my back to front wall. Will I be able to use a projector on a 120 2:35:1 screen? I am looking at the Panasonic ae9000 and the JVC dla-rs48u.

I will be purchasing a Fixed screen and I have the room for it just want to know if 10-12 fee away from the wall will be enough to properly use a projector in my dedicated theater room. It is a completely dark room. Im a bit of a Noob with projectors but it is something Im looking to do over the summer. Toying with the idea of selling my other Elite 60 and go the projector route. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

• Replies 156
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There's a few websites that give estimated screen size depending on what's termed as 'projector throw distance.' Just picking a Panasonic projector at random shows that for that particular model, 12 feet will yield a maximum diagonal image size of about 112". Each projector will be slightly different. As an example, picking a JVC projector yields only about 91" diagonal screen size (model DLS-RS35U).

Those are 16:9 ratios which would be approximately 1.85:1.

Im looking to do a 2:35:1 text screen do you have any ideas and or places I should start looking for decent fix screens? I was looking at 120 inches but seeing how I might need to go a little smaller maybe something in the 110 inch screen size would be more appropriate for the room or even down to 102 inch. if anybody knows of good places to look for fix screens please let me know I seem very good prices and ranges of 6 screens and sizes on eBay. but I want to start doing my research on this. I'm definitely considering a Panasonic that has the automatic zoom feature as you can point it out is this I wonder what the maximum screen size would be using the 9000