I'm a noob and need some help please. R-28F

NEVRL8

I spoke with a Sony Rep. at my local Best Buy store who highly recommended the Klipsch R-28F reference speakers. I plan on having a 5.1 system when complete. He suggested that I could BI-AMP the R-28F speakers with a 7.1 receiver/amplifier. Even though he was a Sony Rep. he suggested the Pioneer VSX-80 http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Home/AV-Receivers/Elite+Receivers/VSX-80

I have since been told that the VSX-80 would not have enough power for the R-28F and that you really shouldn't BI-AMP the speakers anyway. This is confusing to me. Could some of you more knowledgeable people look at the specs of the VSX-80 in the link I posted and help a brother out?? THANKS

• Like 1

• Moderators

Welcome to the forums.  When I had my Yamaha RX-V1800 (130 x 7) receiver, I tried bi-amping using the internal bi-amp feature in the receiver and I did not hear any difference whatsoever. 

That receiver will power the R-28F with no problem.  The R-28F have a sensitivity rating of 98db. This means they placed a microphone 1 meter from the speaker and fed it 1 watt of power and it hit 98db on a db meter.  It takes twice the power to get a 3db gain in volume.

1 watt = 98db

2 watt = 102db

4 watt = 106db

8 watt = 109db

16 watt = 112db

32 watt = 115db

64 watt = 118db

128 watt = 121db

256 watt = 123db

So with 90 watts of power, you can hit over 118db with the R-28F speakers.  Your ears will give out before the speakers do.  :D

As you can see, the higher up you go in wattage, it takes a TON more wattage to be able to hear a difference.

• Like 3