reccomend a SET for my CF3's

rbtwsp

Please give me some ideas for a SET for my CF3's, I currently do not have a pre-amp and would like to go integrated. I will only be using one source so there is no need for switching.

I know this is a very broad question thanks in advance.

Bob

Edited by rbtwsp
  • Like 1

Bob,

I'd speak with a few on here who have the CF-3. I am not familiar with them, but I thought I read they are hard to push with a SET amp. Maybe a PP or SEP?

Justinweber is also someone I'd contact as well.

Edited by Jim

Not to familiar with the CF series. However, I highly recommend ToolShed.  Simply amazing custom builds!  I am new to the world of tubes and have absolutely no regrets going with TSA.  In fact, Matt of TSA is now preparing to build me two more amplifiers if love them so much. 

+1 for Tool Shed

My TSA custom Genesis and Exodus, pair...

post-36834-0-64760000-1456964001_thumb.j

Matt ♪ ♫ ♪

Matthews,

I spoke to Matt a Toolshed breifly, but never asked if he builds SET's. I spoke to him about the Genesis 6.

Jim,

I don't recall reading about 'hard to push', but you may be right. I have heard they like power but, the CF'3 are 100db according to Klipsch.

• Like 1

. I have heard they like power

That's what I meant when I said hard to push. The lower wattage powered amps,depending on them may not match well with those.

Again,there are several on here who have them and could tell you better than I can. I've never even heard them, but all the posts I've seen on them is they are great speakers,but power hungry. I infer power hungry as needing a good 10-15 watts with a SEP or PP. Maybe even more.

• Like 1

What sort of single-ended triode amplifier do you have in mind?

Mike, not exactly sure from what I have seen alot of people build their own SET's. I don't know of many manufacturers, maybe Carey?

Jim,