Need help... recording voice for dummies

Daddy Dee

O.K. Here's a project I'd like to do. I'd like to record myself reading and end up with the recording on CD's. (a modest project for elderly church members)

Have access to some Shure SM58 mics, Mackie mixer, and cassette recorder. What I'm not sure how to do is to get the recording digitized on the pc in order to burn a CD.

Any advice welcome. What I'm looking for is a user friendly solution, (friendly for idiots). I'm really a non tech type. Thanks.

The cassette recorder and the microphone is a good start. After you record the reading on tape you'll probably nead a preamp with outputs that would normally go to an amplifier (the Mackie might be able to be used for this). Instead of running a line from the preamp (mixer) to an amp it neads to be connected to a computer's audio line-input (not a microphone input), this would usually need a special cable such as one with a male 1/8" stereo at one end and stereo male RCA (phono) plugs at the other.

Once all is connected, a computer with CD burning hardware and software should be all you need. The instructions with the CD-R burning software should have a section on recording from an analog source (tape, phono, live microphone etc.) The only thing you'll probably wind up doing is adjusting the input signal level (how strong the input signal is resulting in how loud it will be when you play it back). Once the recording is done be sure, when you go to eject the newly burned CD-R, be sure to tell the computer to "allow the disc to be able to be read by any (most) other CD players and/or computers". How to tell it this will vary per various software programs.

BTW- Have plenty of CD-R's on hand just in case of mistakes, Lord knows I've made em'.