Dirty Vinyl! DIY Record Cleaner?

seti

TD115.JPG

The Kaiser gave me two Thorens TD115 turntables. One of which I got to work by buying a tonearm off of ebay.de. The other I canabalized for the best parts for the working TT. Instead of throwing out the other thorens TT why not turn it into a record cleaner. The broken one does not spin up to speed but still spins enough for cleaning. I am not a vinyl expert but I thought there would have been such a thing as a record cleaning cartridge. I haven't been able to find one. I noticed that the record cleaners out there are not complicated. There are several DIY versions of the nitty gritty and VPI cleaners. What I found interesting is I can buy the VPI upgrade parts to use to turn this TT into a cleaning turntable. I just need a small wooden cabinet to put the table on and to house the vacume cleaner. The VPI parts include the part to attach the vacume, vacume tubem, brush and clamp. The turntable chasis will need to be modified a little.

Here are the parts for the VPI cleaner.

HW-3128.JPG

What do you guys think? Possible or an exercise in futility? Advice and suggestions appreciated.

HW-3015.JPG

Can't see any reason why it wouldn't work. I don't think you really even have to build the box. Just use some rubber or a trash bag to isolate the power supply from water. Just put the record on, use the brushes and cleaner and then used an old vacuum cleaner with the sucker attached and go to town.

Can't see any reason why it wouldn't work. I don't think you really even have to build the box. Just use some rubber or a trash bag to isolate the power supply from water. Just put the record on, use the brushes and cleaner and then used an old vacuum cleaner with the sucker attached and go to town.