Troubleshooting La Scala II

OldCrow

This is the longest thread I have ever posted anywhere! It's for a good cause, but I have no experience with La Scalas.

Last week I met a young married couple who had recently inherited her father's system. La Scala IIs (logo in upper grill corner), RP 600M II bookshelf speakers, Macintosh MC402, Adcom GFA 575es amps, Parasound Halo P5, Adcom GFP 750 preamps, SVS SB 16 subwoofer, and a Yamaha CD player. She's keeping the Parasound, Adcom amp, and the small speakers. The rest is for sale. I've been an audiophile for 40 years and never seen a stack of equipment like this outside of a showroom! My core system is Polk Audio SDA SRS speakers with Carver M1.5t, Crimson 275 amps, Parasound and 10 Octave preamps. She lived nearby and I wanted to hear the LaScalas for possible purchase.

Now comes the problem. They sounded terrible- boomy, underwater bass burying weak mids and highs. I heard a set of K horns in the 70s, but had no real experience with horns. I have read extensively about Klipsch and "their sound," but this was definitely not right. She had a friend help her hook it up. She said it sounded nothing like she remembered. I had hoped it was a simple wiring problem, but the friend had hooked it up correctly. Also, there were XLR connectors, balanced/unbalanced and stereo/bridged toggles, and the Parasound had crossover controls for the subwoofer (which had already sold). I checked the jumpers on the speaker back, and the upper/lower section connection. I tried all combinations of equipment, even brought over a basic Kenwood receiver and another CD player. Always the same.