svs experts wanted

Foost

Ok, here it is. I'm getting real close to a subwoofer decision. I've done my research, and heard every sub I can. Problem is, I think i want a 25-31cs with the samson s700. This leaves me with 3 issues as i see it:

1. I have no way to actually hear the sub before i buy it. I have heard from everyone here that the svs is the coc* of the walk and there is no better for the money. Is there anyone in the boston (or maine) area that has one? That would just make me feel much better.

2. Am i going to regret not having the 20-25hz range? I have rf3's, rc3, and sf1's. I know i am sacrificing volume if i go with the 20-39, but c'mon, do i really need those last few db's?

3. I am a poor college student and these subs are expensive. Tom at svs told me i could pickup a cheap stereo receiver at best buy to power a cs for now. Do you really think so? That, to me, sounds questionable at best. First and foremost I want this sub to kick serious a@#. Is svs the best way to go in the $700-800 price range?

Well there it is. I hope you guys can help. Thanks again.

Foost

This message has been edited by Foost on 09-10-2001 at 11:11 PM

Hi Foost,

I can't help you with the SVS info, but I can direct you to a very knowledgable site - www.hometheaterforum.com - in the event you don't get any feedback here. That seems to be *the* place for SVS discussion.

Tom at svs told me i could pickup a cheap stereo receiver at best buy to power a cs for now. Do you really think so?

From what I've read and heard... if Tom says it, it's honest.

Ross

------------------

"Time flies like an arrow.

Fruit flies like a banana."

With a 45 day money back guarantee you can't go wrong with a SVS sub. But I'm sure you won't be using that service. Price/performancs SVS can't be beat!!!

Craig

------------------

Klipsch KLF30 Mains

Klipsch KLF-C7 Center

Klipsch KSP-S6 Surrounds

Klipsch KG4 Surrounds

Klipsch KSB 1.1 Front Effects

Dual SVS 20-39CS Sub's

Samaon S700 Sub Amp