"It's about the SOURCE material, stupid!"

Mallette

Ok, so please don't anybody take offense... Just a play on an old political saying, but it is true for me. I wrote the below in another post, but between the one on music vs. gear and the tape project thread, I felt this one needed it's own thread. By this point in my journey in audio and on this august forum I find myself wondering why we spend so much time discussing amps, wires, power supplies, tubes, caps, acoustics, etc. and so little time on source material. Not that it should dominate, but there is so precious little of it and no amount of attention to the details of a system's hardware can make it better.

So...

Jay, the more experience I get recording the more I realize almost everything is about SOURCE material. Granted, I have been saying for several years I'd rather hear first class source material on a boombox than crap on a $$$$$$$$ system, but I constantly am more reaffirmed in that. Your CD took me another step.

I had never really believed that it was some special magic I had that made my own location stuff apparently so appealing to many, and have freely admitted to be mystified, if pleased. I KNEW it was not the equipment. While I use the best I can afford, that is certainly not in a class with Mapleshade, Chesky, or any of the "big boys" in audiophile recording. Yet much of my stuff has been judged by many to be equal to or better than. Go figure. Well, it DOES appear that I have a nack for the right mikes in the right place. I also understand simple signal path, no mixer, direct to DAC and HDD. Folks, that's all there is to it. Mapleshade can go on and on about their magic cables, expensive mikes, analog first and digitize later procedures and I'll say "BS." Given it's obvious they know how to select a good group, a fine acoustic venue, and how place mikes I'll wager I could lend them my homebrew rig and nobody would know the difference.