Belle's !!!!!!!

tom b. 57

I finally fell across a killer deal on a pair of Belle's.

Three catches.

1) They are both Oak, but, one is oiled and the other clear. Needless to say not sequential serial #'s. S/N 265394700 and S/N 201490798. I think this makes one made in 94' and the other 90', if I read the date codes correctly.

2) They both seem to have blown tweeters. I will replace the diaphragms or replace complete tweeters. Either way should not be too much trouble.

3) They are not perfect. Some dings and chips, but, nothing that stands out. They are all small blemishes, a few of them are on edges.

They are a bit dirty, so they will need a good cleaning. Small price to pay for picking them up for $650.00.

I am jazzed about these babies.

I would have loved Brazilian Rosewood or some other exotic veneer, but, can't have it all.

What is the best product to clean these with and strip the old oil off so i can try to get them to look the same. I have never worked with wood before so I really don't know what all I need to do to refinish them both so they can match. The wood grain isn't too far off, so, if I can get them the same shade of oiled oak, I will be happy.

Any thoughts on procedures about how to acomplish this? Any input will be appreciated.

Tom