Digital Photographers -- Monitor Calibration

J M O N

I'm looking for some advice from digital photographers on monitor calibration.  I have numerous photos that I haven't spent the time to post process with much attention to detail simply because I don't have a calibrated monitor.  It's been on my list of things to do (things to buy -- but I keep buying more speakers instead!).  The other part is that I'm not completely sure of what I need to do.  I'm not a professional photographer so I don't intend on spending a ton of money, but do want to get set up where at least I can be fairly confident I have a monitor that is "close" where I can get prints made and not be completely dissappointed with the results.  Although I don't rely on income from photography, it is a semi-serious hobby that I don't spend nearly as much time as I'd like to with it.

As I am planning on getting a decent HT projector, I know some monitor calibrators will also calibrate projectors so that would be a bonus.

Anyway, l know there are some pretty serious and even pro photographers on this forum so I'm looking for any advice or suggestions.

Thanks!

• Moderators

Good question, I want to hear the answer also, I have a good monitor but have no clue, is a special monitor needed ? There may be something online that can be used to calibrate a  monitor ? I know I have the wrong cable on this monitor so i need to get the better on first, I never think about it.

• Like 1

FWIW.  In Windows control panel you can choose Display and there is a color calibration option. It is by eyeball

At first it didn't work for my laptop because there was a generic driver for the display but I fixed that.  Also, the laptop does not have knobs to tweek hue, contrast, brightness.  Maybe your display does.

I don't know the extent to which any of this will make the display conform to what is printed.  And maybe color printers have adjustments to play with.

In any event, the price is right.  Free.

WMcD

• Like 1