TWINS PICS !!!!!!!

thebes

TwinPic.jpg

Yup there's two of them. Crossovers for my KG 5.2's just rebuilt by DeanG. They left looking like little lilliputins and came back looking like SuperMan on steroids. I'm given to understand the generous use of hotmelt glue you see is for mini-vibration isolation.

Not I'm not very technical but I'm given to understand that the little round cylinders you see are filled to the brim with thousands of little people with various instruments and singing voices. When the speakers receive a signal from the amp, the various little people inside somehow play the exact same instruments, vocals etc. thus amplifying and deepening the sound.

I could be wrong about the above, but I have contacted my good friend, "Thebes the HI-Fi Detective, and once they are installed a review will be forthcoming in the second installment of Klipsch Noir, so stay tuned.

post-14801-13819259321942_thumb.jpg

I know it's hard to believe, but I haven't seen anything outside of Reference where all the parts are still stuck to the boards with the adhesive. On Thebe's boards for example, ALL the caps were being held by the leads only. The LF inductors had come loose too, and if they hadn't of been strapped -- they would have been dangling off the boards. I'm sure everything was rattling nicely. So yeah, I load up on the glue -- not just on the bottom where the parts touch the board, but also anywhere parts are touching each other. I figure the mass loading and extra damping probably isn't a bad idea, and I sure never have to worry about the networks falling apart. You think I over do it -- I've done some vintage JBL networks where the whole network is buried in adhesive.

----------------

On 11/12/2004 10:57:37 PM JMON wrote:

----------------

On 11/12/2004 6:10:58 PM paulparrot wrote:

Thanks for explaining that it's glue. It looks kinda like something else.

----------------