Audio: does volume posistion = better sound ???

joessportster

what i mean to ask is if your volume knob resides around the 8 or 9 o-clock at the most because that is your preferred listening level with the gear you have ( ie... the gain on the gear combined = comfortible listening level at 9 0-clock)

or if you were to get another well respected pre with lower gain that would cause you to run the volume knob at a higher level forcing the amps to put out more to get to the same listening level.

i have read that the latter of the 2 scenarios is better for sonics and i have actually experianced this b-4 but will hold my opinion on that experience for now to see what is the prevailing opinion here

Joe

I'm no expert, but I find that your second scenario holds true. Just take a guitar amp (tube) with High gain pre section you cause your power section to overdrive giving that fuzzy distortion rock guitar.......thats why rock guitarists use Humbucker style pick ups ...for their higher gain and ease of overdriving.

so to a lesser extent I would assume that a lower "gain" preamp would make your power amp "work harder" but ultimately giving less distortion...

Again I don't know what the heck I'm talking about, but it sounds logical.......

i dont know anything about guitar amps but it make sense that your amp would be designed to operate in a certain range otherwise why have so many different output power ratings, i have heard that 50 to 75 percent is the optimum range for an amp to be working