Please help me with my RF7's :(

Gnfanatic

hello everyone, new guy here. I am hoping you can help me with my RF-7's that I finally hooked up after 8 years! They sat in a temperature controlled room and there is no dry rot or anything but my God do they sound harsh and to high. The center channel speaker (RC-52II) that is made in China sounds better then them :( I am very new to this and did some research, I have noticed I am not the only one complaining about how harsh they are. I have read up on the crossover mod by a man named Dean Wescott but I cannot find his website or contact info??? The speakers are hooked up to a Denon POA-8300 amp and I use a Marantz SR5011 as a preamp. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I tried messing with the receiver settings but cannot get rid of harshness. Please ignore the wiring mess :( Was trying all sorts of things thinking it was me.

Audio1.jpg

If they were new and sitting for a long time, you might want to run them a while.  They will need to be broken in or re-broken in and played semi hard for a while.

Connections/phase, positioning is key also.  Your right speaker will likely be quite bass deficient.

With that, there are some crossover mods that Deang came up with to tame some harshness.

I wouldn't spend any money on them until I did some troubleshooting first.  Make sure the marantz doesn't have them set to "small" or some kind of room correction enabled.  Try running them in pure-direct mode, or better yet, bypass the marantz temporarily as a test.  they're efficient enough to connect a source directly to the amp.

As previously stated make sure the Phase is correct and the receiver is in Direct mode. Just to be clear on phase, make sure one of the speaker isn't wired backwards, not taking about the phase control on the receiver.

Furthermore one of my RF-7 had one of the woofers disconnected, this had me scratching my head for a while.

HB