Will 600 WPC be enough for my Cornwalls?

BigBusa

OK,I have to ask//// WHY?? OK,yes..Headroom issues etc.. I really doubt at any point you will ever get the full sound of the amp so it is purring along full dynamically at 600WPC cause it will never be really on unless you like your ears to bleed etc etc.. Yes overkill to the extreem.

The fast path to permenant hearing damage.

You seem like an intelligent individual -- what the heck are you thinking man?

At least go with a passive biamp setup. Bridging with these amps will sound terrible on horns.

BigBusa, those Dynacos are sweet, and bridged to 600 watts mono...what power. If you were drivin' inefficient Magnepans or other such loudspeakers, then I would tell ya to go for it!

But I must agree with the others that it's way too much power for your Cornwalls (hell, my 100 WPC is too much for my CW's). But I'm no expert by any means, so I'd say to go and at least try it, and see how it sounds to your ears. If it sounds good to you and makes you tap your feet to your favorite tunes, then that's all that really matters in the end.

For what it's worth...

I sold that scott preamp because I just am not into tube gear. IMO tube gear runs to hot, is old, unreliable, clunky and doesn't sound that good.

I like the look of the two amps in the cabinet and since I only have one pair of speakers I decide to have the amplifiers bridged so I can use them both. Sure I won't ever use 600 watts but those watts that I do use will be pumped out so effortlessly it'll be crazy! When the work is all done to the amps I'll give a review of the sound. Trust me ...if it doesn't sound at least as good as one st 400 I'll be the first to say so.

I'm currently powering my CWs with a dynaco st-400 (without the meter option) and love the sound. Very powerful and authoritative.

----------------

On 7/13/2003 9:55:29 AM BigBusa wrote: