CD Player

PYRO

$3,000 is a lot for a CD player. Are you looking for a Macintosh to match? Many Mac owners like to have all Mac Equipment.

I really like Musical Fidelity. I have this one and it is outstanding (much better than my old loaded AH! Tube player). Another forum member had one and loved it too:

http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls.pl?dgtlplay&1212700833

I seem to remember the seller having it listed for $1000 not too long ago. This is a great player, especially for the price. If you want to spend more, look at the TriVista or NuVista. Each is below your max price point.

I have read that Meridian's are outstanding. I have no experience with them. Check out Audiogon.

Esoteric makes some really nice units. A friend of mine had this one:

http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls.pl?dgtlplay&1210114242

He paid $4000 for it a few years ago. It upsamples like crazy and has several selection modes modes. It is a multi lplayer that supports most formats but is outstanding on CD's.

Also check out Sony.

I've got a Rega Saturn and an OPPO DV-980H......

Get yourself the OPPO DV-980H. It's simply unbelievable. It plays Redbook, DVD-A and SACD. The sound coming from the OPPO is amazing; so much so that I set the Rega Saturn aside.

You can get the OPPO for $181.00 shipped. That would save you approx. $2800.00 and I'm pretty confident you wouldn't be missing anything in terms of sonic qualities.

I own the oppo and the rega apollo. The oppo is a fine machine and an incredible value. It has not however replaced the rega in my system. I auditioned the rega versus some very expensive cdp s and think that at a grand it is as good of a value as the oppo is at 180.00. Your opinions may vary.