I fear this may turn into a big flame war but I must ask

I hate to be newbie here, but what is the deal with the heritage line, they look like cabinets out of my grandmas house. I mean give me a break, i have seen skateboard ramps with a better finish. Ok, I'm sure they sound nice and all, and they are traditional, but as far as Im concerned, I think speakers should look as good as they sound. The heritage speakers simply dont do that. Maybe a lot of you think they look great, but I left the 70's 24 years ago, did you?

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

----------------

On 3/4/2004 8:24:10 PM 007 wrote:

but I left the 70's 24 years ago, did you?

----------------

Unfortunately, no I didn't - I am the anti-Clinton, I never exhaled.

What's all this talk about Bush and Iraq? - Wow, I think I just made it to the eighties...

You can't recreate the sound of Heritage speakers in the current "en vogue" designs - you need room for horn lenses and woofer horns, which are very large. And the only fully horn-loaded designs that look "modern" cost loads more than the cost-effective designs of PWK. I love the looks of the Heritage speakers, personally, but sound quality is most important to me.

You do have a valid question. They are huge, they are bulky. They are not for everyone who wants a more streamline looking speaker. But audio quality speaking, why mess with a good thing?

Ah.... Doug just answered my question I posted.. He posted just before me. I removed my question regarding, "can the heritage sound be duplicated in a sleeker desighned cabinet".

Guess the answer is no.

----------------

On 3/4/2004 8:39:47 PM Griffinator wrote:

I dunno. I think the Heritage stuff (Heresies excluded) look like fine furniture. There is an antique look about them that makes them very, very appealing to those who appreciate fine furniture.

----------------