Tube amp confusion (PLEASE NO FLAME WARS)

delano

Sorry to bother you guys again but I have a dilemma.

I went to check out the tube amp I was thinking of purchasing today (Shanling stp-80 tube integrated 35 watts ps). I thought it looked and sounded awesome with the Shanling t-80 tube cd player. Sorry I forgot to mention I will be using my Heresy 11's for this 2channel system.

After I left the store I went to my friends place who just purchased an SET tube integrated made by a local audio engineer. The company is called Song Audio and they are based in Toronto. Well, I have to say that this amp blew me away with it's 4 watts of clean power. I can only describe the sound as "musical". I could listen to this amp for hours sans the fatigue. I also like the fact that it is made right in my home town by the owners hands. from his website (songaudio.com) it seems this man really cares about the music. the Shanling is made in China for the comparison.

I am very new to the whole tube thing and both of these amps are roughly the same price ($2,000). I will be using this system a a fairly small listening room (9x12) and I know my heresy's are efficient enough for the SET.I listen mostly to Jazz and some lighter Rock and a little classical.

Would you guy's think the SET would be a bad choice for my first and hopefully long lasting tube amp compared to the 35 watt integrated.

Once again thanks

Delano

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

----------------

On 11/28/2004 5:59:31 PM delano wrote:

Sorry to bother you guys again but I have a dilemma.

I went to check out the tube amp I was thinking of purchasing today (Shanling stp-80 tube integrated 35 watts ps). I thought it looked and sounded awesome with the Shanling t-80 tube cd player. Sorry I forgot to mention I will be using my Heresy 11's for this 2channel system.