OT: My daughter-born with a (several) congenital heart defect(s)

dkp

My wife gave birth to our third daughter, Sophia Lynn, on August 12. What a journey we have had since then! I am not one of the more frequent posters on this forum, but I am a pretty constant reader. For this reason I feel that I know many of you, and I follow your posts with great interest, but since I am still learning about this great hobby I don't have much in the way of technical knowledge that I could input on the forum. However, I would like for you to know a little bit about my life over the past few months. That being said, I am going to give you the short version...

Our daughter was originally diagnosed with Atrial Septum Defect (ASD). This is commonly referred to as a hole in the heart. There are several areas where this may occur. Sophia's is located in the wall (septum) between the upper two chambers of her heart, the atrium (approximately the lower third of the septum is gone). However, a third echocardiogram changed the diagnosis from ASD to Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome (HLHS). This is basically the underdevelopment, or hypoplasia, of the left ventricle, the main pumping chamber for the body. Due to the underdevelopment of this ventricle, the aorta is also hypoplastic, or has a smaller diameter than normal. Fortunately, a nurse heard a louder than normal murmur and contacted the pediatrician who, in turn, ordered the first echocardiogram. (There is quite a bit more story here...) If the nurse had not run one last set of vitals (for no apparent reason), we were going to be heading home and would have been talking about a very, very different set of circumstances. (When HLHS is undiagnosed the most common result is death at home).