Projector People

Brunt

For those with projectors or with extensive viewing experience, I am wondering what models you have and have experience with for the sake of comparison. Why do you love it? What was better? What did you upgrade from? Anything relating to projectors, good or bad. I'm looking for any and all info.

I know this is mainly an audio forum, but there are a bunch of fantastic theater setups here so I wanted to hear about your opinions, preferences, etc.. I'm thinking about taking the plunge once my Sylvania dies and I figured this would be a good place to gather some info along with projectorreviews.com and avsforum.

The only experience I have is viewing an Epson 8500UB and another friend's Epson EX70...both LCD projectors so I have no experience with DLP's or any other tech.

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Every projector I have seen at audio/visual stores has not been very good. The projectors I have seen at commercial entities which cost 30 grand are also not very good. I have not seen digital projectors at movie theaters. Just my opinion. Not very good means not enough brightness, low contrast, lots of fuzzy stuff.

JJK

I would do my research for projectors over at avsforum I've bought four different projectors over the years, and each time used that forum to narrow my choices. If you go into the projector section, you'll see that at any given time there are usually 2-3 projector threads that are getting 90% of the traffic. There's your top performers. From there it comes down to personal taste.

I'm currently using a Panasonic AE4000 and there's not much more I could ask out of it!

• Moderators

I chose the Panasonic AE3000u because I needed it to do be able to quickly change between 2.35:1 and 16:9 material. I didn't want to have to get up and manually zoom and focus each time the source changed. The panny does an awesome job with that.