How Important Are Room Acoustics

Peter P.

• 2 months later...

I've been saying that here for the last 20 years.

Actually, the recording engineer has you by the balls. Recording engineer is king (as former Forum member Dave Mallett used to say). After that, the room/space/place has the most influence on what we hear. IMHO trying to "tune" an audio system by using various audio components is a fool's game. You will never hear its potential without first consideration to the room it's in. Unfortunately, because this is a learning process, the priorities are usually the other way around for most people most of the time.

• Like 4

2 hours ago, OO1 said:

I'm not so sure , the Recording Engineer only do what the big Studios allow them to do ,  budget wise   ,  the Studios do the final touches digitally in-house   

I don't mean to start an argument, but, I am quite sure what I said is true.

May I ask how much recording experience you have? What kind of music? Where? (studio, live on location, acoustic/electric, etc)

And how much professional (or semi-pro) playing/singing/recording experience you have?

It doesn't matter what the big studio (or small studio) budget is. EVERYTHING, and ANYTHING, the recording engineer does (or doesn't do) directly affects the recording, and what we will eventually hear through our audio systems. Low budget does not necessarily translate to a low(er) quality recording.

2 hours ago, JJkizak said:

In my experience of having the Khorns in 4 different houses acoustics are very important. Trouble is the money spent to correct the acoustics is formidable.

JJK

Absolutely Correct.

Fortunately, for me, I was exposed to this early on. I had bought Cornwalls (1973) and was so pleased after the 3 month wait that I wrote Klipsch a letter. Mrs. Belle Klipsch wrote back and sent me a complete notebook bound copy of the Klipsch Audio Papers (Which I posted here somewhere as well as sent copies to select individuals on this Forum years ago).