Haiti ideas - help needed

Me Loves Khorns

I am trying to figure out a way to get down to Haiti to help. I am a doctor and want to travel there. I have contacted all of our local agencies and groups that could possibly get me there. None of them are heading there. It's not like I can just catch a flight down there, and would need to be with some type of a group that could hopefully provide some medical supplies, and ideally, access to an operating room.

I have contacted Red Cross and Doctors Without Borders. They are only sending doctors that they already are working with.

I am willing to go with just about any type of group. Willing to fly to where ever they head out from if I need to. Have done medical mission work in Africa before, so all my crazy vaccines are current. And, I am used to horrible conditions and everything.

If anyone has any good ideas, or if you know about a group local to you that is going and could use a doctor, can you please let me know. I will contact them and see if they can get me there.

Thank you.

Paul

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't but I applaud you for your willingness.

I think it's a shame a couple of "Doctors Without Borders" planes carrying medical supplies were diverted to the Dominican Republic. They need those supplies asap. That airport situation must be a nightmare though.

Crap... I thought I had a venue for you. http://www.maritime.edu/l2.cfm?page=95&news_id=1570

It was reported only yesterday that the Kennedy was going to disembark her freshmen and sophomores in Miami as soon as she could make port, and ask for junior/senior volunteers to stay on. Apparently the Maritime Administration does not require the Kennedy as was reported in Boston media yesterday.