Klipshorn OLD Vs. NEW

tgourlie

I am finally looking to buy some k-horns! The thing is I am a recent grad who really doesn't have loads of money. I have a lot for my situation, but still not rich by any means. The thing is I am buying a new Lincoln, and have to pay chicago rent. So what I am wondering is if I buy a used pair from the 80's (same as my Heresy II's) will I have to make any crossover / driver replacements / enhancements to make them sound as good as the best K-horn? I would sacrifice a few dings for 3 or 4 thousand dollars. But the sound is what matters. Thanks

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Tgourlie, with all respect, put aside the new Lincoln and go with the new Khorns (about $7,000.) Your new Lincoln will depreciate that much or more as soon as you drive it off the dealer's lot. And you will have to trade it in on something else in a few years. The new Khorns will decrease in used value too. But they "never wear out." You and your heirs will have and enjoy them for decades. They are that legendary and that good. I (aged 61) have a pair of 2003's purchased last year and my two grown sons are already friendly competing over who's going to get 'em.

Others please weigh in on this interseting topic.