Need Advice on Entering the Tube World

youngjj

With two kids in college and one getting married soon, I should probably not even be asking, but...

Last year I moved up from Heresys (bought new unfinished) to Choruses (used OW beauties). To power them I went with the HK 630, then later the 730. I usually labor over purchases for a long while. Now is my time to start planning for a move to tubes. However, I need to walk before I run. Money is definitely an object (of concern). What advice can any of you give? Please don't get too technical with specs. My knowledge is limited, but I have been around a little. It was almost thirty years ago when I graduated from Small Advents to the Heresys. When Forum members write about the quality of '70's audio equipment, I remember, because I was there! Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

[*-)]

About a year ago I took a first dive into tubes. From the information I gathered from this forum I chose to keep my eyes peeled for an HH Scott 299 integrated amp. I was lucky enough to find one (299D) in good condition for $200.00. I used it for a short time before I had it looked at by a tech in my area who was an authorized Scott service tech back in the 60's and 70's, until Scott folded. He replaced a few capacitors and put a few new tubes in and gave it a clean bill of health. I am using it right now in my main system. I alternate between it and my McIntosh MC-2105 C-26 combo. I really enjoy the Scott. It seems to me that technology has come a long way, but , even though the Scott is from the early 60's it does it for me. Great sound is great sound. I suppose in a few years or so I will venture into a more expensive tube realm, but, I am satisfied for now. I think that a Scott would be a good starter for a small price.

Tom