Advice from Klipsch owners, please

bluemando

Hi all. I have been considering Klipsch speakers since the 1980's but alway shyed away as I wasn't sure that they would do well with classical music. Anyway, the time has come that, once again, I'm considering this well established line of speakers. They've been around for a long time, so I suspect that Klipch is doing "something" very well!. I want to replace a pair of KEF Q15 bookshelf speakers that are located in 15x14 living room. That's a somewhat small for a living area. My KEF's are hooked up to a 40 year old Sansui, 20 wpc integrated amp. They work pretty well reproducing the sound of small ensembles and chamber music, but fail when it comes to reproducing large orchestra fare. So, I'd like to get some recommendations for Klipsch floorstanding speakers that 1) will extend my bass down

to about 38hz (or perhaps a bit less) 2) will work well with a low powered amp 3) have a wood veener finish (no vinyl) and 4) cost < $700 .

The cost isn't arbitrary. I have a pair of new MMG's (magies) that only set me back $630 (delivered, with a 60 day try out!) I figure that other spea < $700 .