Help. Need ideas for officiating a wedding.

sputnik

A good friend will be having her wedding at our place in two weeks and has asked me to officiate.  Preemptively, knowing how threads can get derailed, I should repeat "officiate" - not the many fun words that rhyme.  Knowing that audiophiles are by nature a romantic and sentimental group, I'm asking for truly needed help here.  

Please suggest anything romantic, touching, or humorous you've seen at weddings, I really need some cool wedding ideas and/or inspiring love stories.

Thanks in advance.
  • Like 1

I've participated in some of these:

http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/impossibly-romantic-wedding-ideas#28qj5tp

My daughter's best friend's wedding last year.  The groom is a videographer by profession (and something of a nut) :

Edited by Chris A
  • Like 1

In all sincerity, just be yourself. I've been to about 18 weddings, most of which as a photographer with no personal connection, and all of them were pretty pedestrian in nature. And honestly, it's not about you to begin with - so put the focus on them and whatever they have in mind and just blend into the background.

• Like 2

My great uncle was a priest years ago and it was a family tradition that he would perform all of our weddings. He was also one of the funniest people I knew.

During one of the services he stopped and looked at my cousin (who was so nervous she couldn't stop laughing) "How long do you want this (service) to go? Half hour? 45 min.? Hour and a half??"

Thank you Great Uncle Fr. Paul Kappes (All Saints Church, Montgomery, OH.

• Moderators

:emotion-21:

Chris A, on 17 Sept 2014 - 07:25 AM, said: My daughter's best friend's wedding last year.

That second video is one of the best wedding videos I have seen, I like the idea of the guest signing the guitar, much better than the standard stuff to be framed later. 

I don't know what to tell you except to have fun and make sure they do.