Cables, Coffee, Cycles, and Cocktails

Tarheel

My morning routine has me enjoying a cup or two of non GMO, environmentally friendly, green, expensive, co-op purchased, coffee while reading the latest in the cable debate now on page 19 in one thread and a "hot topic" in two others.

Pursuing Cal's thread that wandered a bit and ended up in a discussion of coffee I would like to pick the brain of the serious coffee drinkers here and get some suggestions, tips, and advice.

Here are the particulars. I usually do not grind my own beans. I drink two cups in the morning....that's it. Expensive to me is more than $10 a pound. I am not particularly loyal to any brand or purveyor. I have a Keurig but routinely use a Mr. Coffee. I guess among serious coffee drinkers, to use an audio comparison, I am in the boom box stage.

So what would be a step up?

Edited by Tarheel
  • Like 8

I'm not a coffee expert by any means but I do enjoy a good cup of Joe. I generally have a 16oz mug every morning, 8oz. on the way to the gym at 6am, and the other 8oz. when I hit my desk around 8am. I probably drink more most weekend mornings.

I buy from my local home grown grocery called Bloomingfoods. Most of their coffees come from 3-4 local coffee bean makers and run $8.99-14.99 pound. My favorite right now is called Organic Love Buzz which is $10.99lb. I also buy whole beans and grind them right before I brew in the mornings. I recommend this if you are wanting to step your game up. To me grinding my own beans has been the single greatest increase in my coffee drinking experience I've ever experienced. I owned a Keurig for awhile, but it didn't brew as strong as I liked, although I admit I still enjoy the different flavors now and then when I visit my parents.

All in all, I'll drink a gas station Maxwell House if that's all there is, and be completely content.

• Like 6