RF-7's or Cornwall III's

I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I've got a income tax refund burning a hole in my pocket and I'm thinking about buying a new pair of speakers. I've always wanted a pair of Cornwalls, but am also considering the RF-7's. I am also leaning toward a Yamaha Aventage RX-A3020 receiver. The Yamaha is rated at 150 wpc. Is this enough or not enough? Please Help!!!!

• Like 1

welcome to the forum Chad, 150 wpc is perfect. i have owned both sets of speakers you are thinking of buying and what it comes down to is

do you like skinny speakers or do you like wide speakers. in other words do you have the room for cornwalls, they are 2' wide

another thing are you going with 2 channel or 5 channel ?

Edited by Budman

you could buy used and save a TON of money. at least with the cornwalls. it really depends on what you can accomodate. i dont own rf-7ii but have heard them and i prefer my cornwalls. i also thought i would never would like the look of cornwalls in my home, boy was i wrong! i bought them without the wifes permission. not they are the only ones i am never allowed to sell. she likes them that much. i think she is a fan of the walnut veneer.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Klipsch-Cornwall-III-Main-Stereo-Speakers-NEW-/291018501593?pt=Speakers_Subwoofers&hash=item43c20dedd9

there might be a descent pair with free shipping. save you a bit. although not sure what a new set can be had from acoustic sound design. i think they sell heritage stuff.

i dont see much on the used market. at least on ebay. i am sure there are lots of corns on search tempest right now. shipping will be hard with speakers that big though. good luck with your search

guess i type too slow. thats what happens when your wife sets a plate of hot cookies from the oven when you trying to help someone out lol!!